Cobalts SS banner

2006 Cobalt 2.0l L4 SS.. Need some help!

4K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  StreetCar06SS 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, Im new to the cobalt ss world.. Just picked her up a few days ago and passed inspection today. I am a mechanic and have alot of knowledge and skill, but was curious if anyone could help me out on a few question... I believe that it could be a O2 sensor, MAF sensor, or possibly have a crap tune or even stock tune. The car has 79.7mm pulley already installed, (3.1 i think?) and magnaflow cat back exhaust, and a hurst short throw. Car makes around 14.5-15 lbs at 5500 rpms when getting on it. The car performs great, and drives great. Although i had a PO172 code pop up on me twice. Cleared it and went forth to keep driving... I also have pretty bad fuel mileage for what the car is said to have and also the idle will jump by itself (Nothing drastic, but bobs around a little when you let off the gas and push in the clutch. I have yet to see what kind of injectors or anything else that has been done but so far I have only cleaned the MAF sensor. Any idea, more specific reason of the bad mileage, the PO172 code, and the sometimes idle fluctuating??? I love the car though. So much fun, with the daily ability. just hoping I can get these small issues resolved. Thanks everyone for your help!!

#2 ·
Yeah, that's a running rich code. Clean MAF, check injectors for leaks or broken o-rings, make sure air filter isn't dirty and intercooler piping isn't kinked or leaking. Probably not a boost leak because it builds the proper pressure. Check for dirty/clogs from the intake up through the end of the IC piping, check the spark plugs for fouling, and possibly replace the bank 1 oxygen sensor.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

#3 ·