First gear... - Chevy Cobalt SS Forum : Chevrolet Cobalt SS Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-31-2005, 01:56 PM Thread Starter

First gear...

I'm really enjoying my Cobalt SS but first gear is really annoying.

I try to shift it smoothly but the car always seems to have the front end bow down then back up in the middle of the shift. Anyone else experiencing this?

It doesnt matter whether the a/c is on or off.

I'm not a pro at driving stick but I cant believe this is how its meant to be. For example the car idles at 1000, I rev it to 2000 as I let the clutch out and that 'bow' dips the rpm to 1500.

The only cure is to let the clutch out really slow while keeping the revs high, sometimes its not as noticeable others its almost gone. Only bad thing about this is with the higher revs i'm out accelerating vehicles infront of me in traffic like when the light turns green.

It almost screwed me up in traffic as I had to get out into the lane quickly and it did it. Its like theres a chain to the front bumper and someone behind you gives it a tug then lets go.

Its like this car hates to be given just a bit more rev over idle to go into gear.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-31-2005, 02:09 PM

Not to be a jerk, and I only can say what I experience in my RL, but I don't even have to rev to get into gear. If I feather it, idle gets the car moving and I can actually let off the clutch (NOT good for any part of the clutch/tranny). But yes, it is a difficult car to start moving in (my cavy was at least 3 times easier and smoother), but over time it should just start coming to you on how to do it better. I can't say for sure as I don't own a SS, but in my RL to get moving, I just lightly hit the throttle and release the clutch, there is some bucking, but I can get rid of this by giving more gas and feathering the clutch more.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-31-2005, 03:11 PM