Warning!!!! - Chevy Cobalt SS Forum : Chevrolet Cobalt SS Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 06:52 PM Thread Starter

Transmission Warning!!!!

I just found out the hard way that the third gear problem is potentially fatal to our transmission. True, I am a spirited driver, but I have never had anything like this happen to any of my other cars, and I have been driving stick for 11 years.

Some of you may have read about my tranny problems over on .net, but for those that have not, here's the cliff's notes:

pulling onto the interstate, -BANG!- third gear wall, no biggy- back out of the gate, go for it a little easier- NO THIRD GEAR. I limp home doing the 2-4 thing with 2 and 4 getting progressively harder to engage. pull onto my street- lose 2. pull into my driveway- lose 1. quick run 1-2-3-4-5, nothing in any of them.

Dealership says the roll pin broke. As a result of the shifter breaking. Which then destroyed the synchros on the drive home. Total tranny obliteration.

So if you aren't already taking that 2-3 REAL easy, learn from me. The shifter/tranny is NOT strong enough to handle spirited driving! So the Hurst is on somebody's list to Santa Also, and I've already advised my friends of this- GO GET THAT THIRD GEAR SYNCHRO CHECKED BY THE SHOP if you are having the brick wall thing. tell them to look for fatigue on the roll pin. My dealership is covering this under warranty, but the next guy might not be so lucky- so get it seen now.

<END WARNING>

Last edited by J.D.; 12-09-2005 at 11:01 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 06:56 PM

WOW that really sucks.

post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 07:01 PM

I sometimes feel like theres a wall in first. But its when im giong like 20, so there probably is a wall considering I think 1st gear only goes to high 20s. Anyone else have that????

post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 07:05 PM