New Member Introduction - Chevy Cobalt SS Forum : Chevrolet Cobalt SS Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-09-2015, 10:49 AM Thread Starter

Cool New Member Introduction

Hello, My name is Rodney and I drive a 2007 Cobalt SS (black/red). I am not a mechanic and I don't know the type of supercharger that's in my car or anything. I just like the car and it's fun to drive. I also ride a 2001 Kawaski ZX9R Ninja sportbike (red/black). I like fast vehicles.

I am an Air Force veteran (and so is my wife) and I live in Mississippi.

I bought my Cobalt in March of this year and it had 96K miles. Last week I took it to a dealership to get a fuel problem (recall issue) resolved. When I got to the dealership, the rubber boot on the discharge side of my supercharger ruptured and white smoke went everywhere and oil started leaking on the service driveway (a little more than a teaspoon in a palm-sized cluster on the ground).

Yesterday I went to the dealership and I saw the tear in the boot and there was oil inside the boot and it had some yellow streaks in the oil. The service rep said that the tear caused Blow-By (whatever that is).

The car has always had black smoke coming out of the tail pipe (since I have owned it) and now I am at about 104K miles. I drive 12 miles to work and 12 back home every day. The service rep told me that there is something seriously wrong with car, inside the engine, because it's burning oil pretty badly. Again, I am not sure what is going on. The rep said: "We won't know exactly what's going on until we open up the engine and look inside. But something major is going on inside your engine to cause it to burn oil like that." I plan on picking my car up tomorrow and bringing it home. May I ask this though, should there be oil in the rubber boot coming from the supercharger at all? Maybe that is another problem that I also need to address, I don't know. And, does any of this sound normal for my car?