Cobalts SS banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, my buddy at work has been talking all this shit about how his Mazda could whoop my ass because he has more horsepower and mine is slow, blah blah blah. He put a performance BOV and an Injen intake on it. These cars are making 275 hp stock so I'm not sure what he is currently running

So yesterday we finally raced. It really wasn't even close. We went from 30, 40, and 50. Each time I pulled on him instantly and put 2-3 cars pretty fast. I got it on video so I'm gonna try and put on youtube tonight

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
14 flat? a stock SS/SC? um yah, when mine was stock, i was barely getting 15. I am a fairly descent driver too. Im at 2000ft so im sure the time would have been a little better at sea level, maybe 14.8 or 14.7, but definitely not 14.00.

·
Registered
572 Posts
I am at sea-level. (-25ft. to be exact)

You figure in good track prep, good track obviously, good tires, and 91 octane with cool weather ~65 degrees will put you at 14.00 here because we also have thicker air as well. Good possibility but when Car & Driver tested the two, they both ran 14.39s (the Cobalt was 14.36 and the speed6 was 14.39) call it even stockVSstock. And that was at 85 degrees and 1k feet of elevation. (thinner air, and higher elevation causes boost loss).

·
Registered
772 Posts
Nice kill. On a good track you'll usally see low 14s out of a SS/sc. with your mods you should be in the mid to high 13s and trapping 103 or 104. Once you get the videos post a link to them on this thread.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks. I'll try again tonight to get that video on the computer because i did it with my phone and its a pain in the ass

·
Registered
137 Posts
I wanna see the vids!

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I'm trying. Its my first time with this new phone. On a different note....