Cobalts SS banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this guy so bear with me. I just bought an 06 LS, hope nobody gets mad cuz its not an SS! I was looking to get rims but i dont understand Tire Sizing very well, i was wondering what size tires would fit on my Cobalt. I know the stock size is 190/60-15...what do those numbers mean and how much bigger can i go if any....thanks alot for the help

·
Registered
671 Posts
190 = width
60 = sidewall height
15 = size in diameter

you will also need to know what offset you have and what your bolt pattern is. The ss/sc has a 5x110 bolt pattern

·
Registered
671 Posts
Bolt pattern is needed if you are also purchasing wheels.

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
The 190 part means the tire is 190mm wide. 60 means the size of the sidewall is 60% of width: 60% of 190 is 114mm. That is important to make sure your speedometer reads properly. and of course the -15 is the size of your rim.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok...

Ok so does anybody know what the offset and the bolt pattern is on my car. I'm looking to get either 17's or 18's depending on pricing that i find, so what size tires should i get. I promise you I'm not as dumb about the rest of the car, lol, ive just never bought rims before. Thanks guys

·
Registered
671 Posts
The best site for this is www.tirerack.com you put your car in and they will give you all of your #'s and wheel and tire packages. You can also view the rims and tires on your car.

·
Registered
322 Posts
with 18x7 up to about 18x8 you probably want to consider putting 225 series tires on, it'll help protect the rim and give you a larger footprint.

edited to answer your question-

Yes, 18's should fit fine, as long as the offset is correct and you don't go wider than about 18x8.

·
Registered
258 Posts